Decision time………..

It’s been a long time since I’ve posted and there’s a very simple reason for this. In October, I had to refresh the bottom end of the engine. When the timing was advanced (to where it should have been) it caused more pressure on the bottom end and it started knocking. To say I was gutted was something of an understatement.

So Southern Triumph replaced the big ends, centre mains and thrust washers where access was possible without removing the crank. This has fixed the knocking and in fact the car runs better now. But I had lost the love for the car and I drove it back from Southern Triumph and put it away in my garage.

Come January and I hadn’t opened the garage doors and I decided it was time to bite the bullet and sell JSK. I even got the paperwork to book it in to Richard Edmonds auction. However, I had a chat with Watermill Carriage Company and I’ve decided I don’t want to give up on the car yet. So…………April 13th it’s going in for some major surgery.

The list of jobs is pretty long, but fingers crossed when it comes out, the car will be what I want in a TR3. So here is the list of work being carried out:

  • Right hand drive conversion (keeping a steering box rather than rack and pinion)
  • Overdrive gearbox (fully reconditioned)
  • Interior retrim including RHD Dash and reconditioned gauges
  • Engine Rebuild (crank, pistons, liners etc etc)
  • Sort all the panel gaps around the car
  • Paintwork
  • New Wiring Loom
  • New Steering Wheel
  • Hood and sidecreens finally fitted
  • Myriad other little bits and pieces

Fingers crossed I’ve finally found a restorer that can fix the car once and for all.

Leave a comment